Punjabi University is a higher education institute located in the erstwhile princely state of Patiala, Punjab, India with the objective of teaching and research in the subjects of science, engineering and technology, humanities, social sciences, performing arts and sports. Punjabi University was established on the 30 April 1962, and is only the second university in the world to be named after a language, after Hebrew University of Israel. Initially it was conceived as a unitary multi-faculty teaching and research university, chiefly meant for the development and enrichment of Punjabi language and culture, but now meeting the demands of the society and education of the state. Punjabi University was established under the Punjabi University Act 1961 as a residential and teaching university, not as an affiliating University. It started functioning from temporary accommodation in Barandari Palace building in Patiala city. Formerly its jurisdictional area was fixed as the 10-mile (16 km) radius. There were only nine colleges out of which six professional and three art and science colleges in Patiala, fell within its jurisdiction. The university moved to its present campus in 1965. The campus was initially spread over about 316 acres (presently 600 acres) with buildings in lush green, pollution-free environment away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The campus at Patiala makes international standard facilities available for students and researchers. Although initially the main task before the university was to develop and promote the language of the Punjabi people, it has since grown into a multi-faceted, multi-faculty educational institution. It grew into an affiliating university in 1969, with 43 colleges affiliated to it and covering Patiala, Sangrur and Bathinda districts of Punjab. Since then, it developed significantly and acquired a distinctive character among the centres of education and research in the country. Now, it has 138 affiliated colleges spread over nine districts of Punjab. The affiliated colleges are in the districts of Patiala, Barnala, FatehgarhSahib, Sangrur, Bathinda, Mansa, Mohali, Rupnagar and Faridkot.